Life update: On time management, reading slumps and NaNoWriMo

Hello everyone! I’m back from the dead! Literally… life got the best of me and between trying to stay on top of everything going on apart from this Blog, trying to move forward in terms of the always growing to-do list and winter arriving in Germany, I caught a cold that wasn’t your normal “I can still somewhat function” type of cold. Feeling terrible is even worse when you don’t look sick (so everyone thinks you’re exaggerating), but have a fever that’s slowly cooking you from the inside and a voice that’s suddenly two octaves deeper (are prank calls still a thing? Perfect opportunity.)

im dead inside.gif

Anyway, here I am at 2am writing a life update, for everyone who might be interested in what I’ve been up to!

Time management can take a toll on all of us, and it sure did take me a lot of willpower to keep moving, to not give up and lose sight of the bigger picture. It was hard. It still is, but as the year is slowly (or rather fast. How is it almost December already? Time is an interesting concept…) coming to a close, I’m hoping to start energized and with more strength into the new year! Speaking of hopes, I’m also hoping to finally revive this little corner of the Internet after barely reading, commenting, writing anything. Did anybody else have trouble with time management? Let me know by leaving a comment, and if you have any tips, I’d love to hear them!

The reading slump is still going strong. No matter what book I start, I don’t get past the 25% mark. It just won’t happen. This must be a curse, I’m sure of that. The goal was to read 40 books this year, so far I’ve read nine. I’m not kidding you, that’s really it. This is the cold truth. Blaming it on 2016. It’s a legit excuse now. Feel free to quote me on this.

Now to the fun part, NaNoWriMo! I’m participating for the first time ever! Planned on participating one day since 2014, but the time never seemed right. Considering everything that’s going on currently, it still isn’t the right time. BUT I got an email from Novlr, which I’ve been using since it first came out. Actually, even before that, it was free back then and still in development. (They’re adding new features all the time, too!) Anyway, they said Novlr is free for the whole month of November and of course I had to participate! Just for the sake of participating. There’s no way I will get close to writing 50k words, a miracle would be needed. My current word count is 4,619. Better than nothing, right? If you’re participating as well, add me as a writing buddy! 

wink point.gif

How have you been up to? What did I miss?

PS: I’m currently working on a new feature (monthly or biweekly) to include on this blog, so keep an eye out for that! It’ll hopefully be finished around new years eve and uploaded within the first week of 2017.

4 thoughts on “Life update: On time management, reading slumps and NaNoWriMo

  1. Yasaman, I’ve missed you and your posts ♥♥ I’m sorry to hear about your cold! I so get what that’s like. I’ve been sick so much this year, but it hasn’t looked like I was and it can be frustrating when people don’t understand haha. I’m really sorry about your slump too 😦 I hope it goes away soon. I’m super excited to see what you have planned for the blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Lauren, this just made my day! ❤️❤️❤️ I’ve missed talking to you!
      Yess! Everyone’s like “how are you sick? You look a little tired… maybe” And there’s nothing you can do but glare at them because words hurt 😅 😂
      It’s been so many months now, thank you, I really hope it goes away too 😞
      Can’t wait to hear what you think of it once it’s online!! 😃

      Like

  2. Ugh, life can be a struggle! My only tip for reading slumps is to try some trashy romances, because you don’t have to think. But it sounds like you’ve tried just about everything! I’m doing NaNo too, and I’m about halfway at the moment. I won’t finish, but like you said, at least we’ve written something 🙂 Can’t wait to see your new feature!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

