Book series I don’t plan on finishing

All readers will likely have at least one book series they don’t intend to ever finish. Today, I want to highlight those books; the ones that couldn’t win me over. The books with characters not written real enough or who I didn’t connect with at all. Not to forget all the books that had a promising plot, but the story didn’t develop enough, was poorly executed, etc. Even the books I simply grew out of and am not interested in like I was years ago.

But I’m rambling now, so let’s talk books! Titles link to goodreads.

  • Faith (read first two volumes) This comic was not for me. I didn’t get invested in the story at all and didn’t care about the characters either. 1 Star.
  • Fallen (read up to book 3) I really thought I would be able to force myself through the rest of these books. For some reason I enjoyed the first two books and gave them 5 stars. The third book ‘Passion’ still got 3 stars from me. If I had to rate them again, they would either get 1 or 2 stars. The MC was annoying, the storyline sounded promising, but ended up being very repetitive and told with barely any passion.
  • Magische Sechzehn / German book, English title would be ‘Magical sixteen’ (read first novel, won it in a giveaway) Enjoyable and light, but I’m not the targeted age group. My recommendation would be to read it, if you’re less than 17 years old or if you want to be reminded in how it was to be/turn 16. And obviously if you speak German, as this hasn’t been translated into another language yet.
  • The Poison Diaries (read first novel) The Poison Diaries disappointed me on so many levels. It’s one of those books you think is okay, but then after giving a rating (2 stars in my case) you really want to take another star off.
  • Twilight (read up to book 3) Don’t judge me, but I’m one of those who read the books after seeing the movies. They were alright at the time, but right now I don’t have any interest in reading the last book Breaking Dawn. It’s almost 800 pages, if it weren’t such a chunky book, I probably would have picked it up to be done with the series, but saving the time to read other books seems more logical here.

Have you read any of these books? Or are any of them on your tbr? Did you enjoy them more than me? Let me know what you think, I’d love to hear!

3 thoughts on “Book series I don’t plan on finishing

  1. I read the first Twilight book back in 2007, haha. I appreciate why so many people love the series, but there’s no way I’ll be continuing with it. Fallen has been on my shelf for YEARS. I feel like I should read it because I own it, but I really don’t think it’ll be something I’ll continue with either.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

